skip navigation


École secondaire publique Louis Riel is a public high school in Ottawa, we have had a Sports-Études program since 2006. This program has been very successful in preparing athletes to play at a post-secondary institution. We have been able to provide the athletes with a periodized program over their four year high school careers, by providing LTAD friendly physical training programs, sport psychology education and nutrition education to go along with their basketball training.



By OBA Communications 04/06/2017, 9:30am EDT

As the inaugural Ontario Scholastic Basketball Association (OSBA) women’s season begins to come to a close with playoffs well underway, OSBA is proud to announce this season’s award winners, as voted by the coaches.

The award recipients will be honoured at half-time during the championship game on Wednesday, April 12 at Humber College’s North Campus in Toronto. The women’s game tips off at 6:00 p.m. followed by the men’s final at 8:00 p.m.

The matchups for the women’s finals will be determined at the semifinals on Thursday, April 6 at York University in Toronto. King’s Christian faces Lincoln Prep at 5:30 p.m. and Durham Elite takes on TRC Academy at 7:30 p.m.

Catch all the action on OSBA TV.

Check out the full OSBA playoff schedule and results here.


2016-17 OSBA Women’s League Award Winners

League MVP
Laeticia Amihere, King’s Christian


First Team All-Stars
Laeticia Amihere, King’s Christian
Hanna Hall, Lincoln Prep
Taya Hanson, TRC Academy
Justina King, Bill Crothers
Shaina Pellington, Durham Elite


Second Team All-Stars
Hailey Brown, TRC Academy
Makayla Ennis, TRC Academy
Christina Morra, King’s Christian
Aiden Rainford, Lincoln Prep
Keishana Washington, Durham Elite


Sportsmanship Award
Hanna Hall, Lincoln Prep


All-Academic Award
Lauren Boers, King’s Christian
Jessica Dodig, Bill Crothers
Naomi Ganpo, Guelph Prep
Lootii Kiri, Louis Riel
Addie Mailhot, Southwest Academy
Emily Martindale, Lincoln Prep
Kylee O’Hara, Durham Elite
Aerial Wilson, TRC Academy


By OBA Communications 03/27/2017, 6:15pm EDT

The Ontario Scholastic Basketball Association (OSBA) playoff schedule for the women’s league has been released.

All eight teams in the league will compete in the quarter-finals, which begin on Saturday, April 1.

All playoff games will take place in high-quality post-secondary venues in Toronto, including Mattamy Athletic Centre at Ryerson University, Humber College’s North Campus, and York University.

York’s head coach, Erin McAleenan, commented, "York University is honored to be hosting the inaugural OSBA Women’s League semi-finals. It is a great opportunity for the top high school female basketball players in Ontario to be on our campus and in our gym, and for our coaching staff to see such a high calibre of girls’ basketball.”

McAleenan went on to commend the OSBA, “The structure of the OSBA has the girls’ training, competition, strength and conditioning, and sport psychology built into a year round training cycle, which really enhances their overall growth and development and helps prepare them for their post-secondary basketball careers."

Details about the OSBA Women’s League playoffs are outlined below.



Date: Saturday, April 1
Location: Ryerson University, Mattamy Athletic Centre (50 Carlton Street, Toronto)

10:00 a.m. Durham Elite (2) vs. Louis Riel (7) (Game 2) 
12:00 p.m. King’s Christian (1) vs. Guelph Prep (8) (Game 1) 
2:00 p.m. TRC (3) vs. Southwest Academy (6) (Game 3)

Date: Monday, April 3
Location: Humber College, North Campus (203 Humber College Blvd., Toronto)

5:30 p.m. Lincoln Prep (4) vs. Bill Crothers (5) (Game 4)


Date: Thursday, April 6 
Location: York University, Tait Mackenzie Centre (1 Thompson Road, Toronto)

5:30 p.m. Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 4 (Game 5) 
7:30 p.m. Winner Game 2 vs. Winner Game 3 (Game 6)


Date: Wednesday, April 12
Location: Humber College, North Campus (203 Humber College Blvd., Toronto)

6:00 p.m. Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6


Tickets can be purchased at the door, $3 for students and $5 for adults.


All games will be livestreamed on OSBA TV.


Linh Nguyen, OSBA Commissioner (Women's)

Andre Desjardins